Gun store Shooting Locations It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 1:57 pm

Rules WGO Chat Room Gear Rent Me Shield NRA SAF CCKRBA
Calendar

Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Aging eyes and shooting 

I am currently have a hard time seeing the sights and the targets when I shoot a pistol. I have never worn glasses in my life. I have been wearing cheaters for about 2 years now. I need to get my eyes checked but have heard to go to a Dr that either shoots or understands the concept to help me for my shooting. Is this true?

Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:46 am
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I've worn glasses almost since I can remember. In the last few years, my aging eyes have made it more difficult to shoot like yours have. I have an optometrist up here I could recommend, he's ex-military like I am (USMC I think?), and while I don't think he's an active shooter, he understands what it takes. However, I see you're in Olympia, so maybe someone down there can recommend someone.

I've got what are called "progressive" lenses, which means I can focus on things close up by looking through the bottoms of the lenses, and distant objects by looking through the tops. In the middle ground there's a field of view that allows me to see both my sights and target and you can tilt your head to "widen" this field of view. The optometrist can optimize this middle ground for you if you tell them what you need. The focus changes as you rotate your head, but there's no dividing line like bifocals, it's a smooth transition from near to far and back. You get used to it very quickly.

I had them make some "business" glasses for me some time ago that let me look at the screen of a tablet in my hands and still be able to focus on the other side of the room (maybe 30' - 40' away?) where the projector was putting the image I needed to talk about.