Gun store Shooting Locations It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 9:48 am

Rules WGO Chat Room Gear Rent Me Shield NRA SAF CCKRBA
Calendar

Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Battery Cables, Lugs and Clamps (Possible Solution!?) 
In Memoriam
In Memoriam

I know there are some excellent mechanics on here, so I am hoping for some advice.

I thought that I had solved a battery problem by switching over to heavy cable lugs placed on the lead battery connector under a wing nut :
Attachment:
lug batt clamp01.jpg

This combo has taken care of me for about a year on two other applications. It worked so well on a previously problematic automotive cable that I went out and stocked up on 40 of the wingnut style clamps because I expected to slowly switch over to it on my other equipment.

But now I'm stymied... I was replacing a few cables on a JCB 1400B backhoe and ran into one of the frustrating problems that remind me that I am a shadetree mechanic, not a real one. The backhoe had never had a starting problem... But I pulled the battery because I was doing a bunch of things to the machine and figured I'd trickle charge it for the week that I had it taken apart. I noticed that the existing cables were pretty small (1/0 I think, although I didn't measure.) The battery clamps were old and nasty.

I took out the old cables, cleaned up the frame contact spot, and then made up some monster heavy cables that are kind of ridiculously overkill. 4/0 cable, and heavy wall lugs hydraulically crimped. The frame contact was shiny... The bolt torqued correctly. The battery was fully charged up, and I performed a CCA test (790/850 CCA- pass.) The cables had been 1/0 with bolted lugs and now changed to 4/0 with hydraulically crimped lugs.