Gun store Shooting Locations It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 6:13 am

Rules WGO Chat Room Gear Rent Me Shield NRA SAF CCKRBA
Calendar

Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Hot Water Heater/Tankless 
Site Moderator
Site Moderator

Hot water heater is spitting out rust. I’m looking for someone who can install a tankless heater.

Citizens Committee for the Right to Keep and Bear Arms
Join the NRA
Firearms Policy Coalition

Fri Nov 01, 2019 10:32 am
Profile WWW
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

when the last time you flushed it?

Fri Nov 01, 2019 11:06 am
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

did replace mine myself last year, took a full day as i had to make a couple of trips to the store for this and that and going slow as i've never done it before.
having endless hot water is great :thumbsup2:
total cost was under 2K. i was quoted 4K+ if i had a company do it
they're not that hard to do, just need to come up with a plan and gather necessary parts so it's done in 1 shot

Fri Nov 01, 2019 12:15 pm
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Yeah, flush annually and swap out the anode every 5 years. Rust can indicate anode is depleted.

Tankless won't work for us since the water from our well is remarkably cold.

Fri Nov 01, 2019 12:26 pm
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

movingviolation wrote:
did replace mine myself last year, took a full day as i had to make a couple of trips to the store for this and that and going slow as i've never done it before.
they're not that hard to do, just need to come up with a plan and gather necessary parts so it's done in 1 shot

What brand did you go with?

I'm still figuring out what I want to do for the house I'm remodeling

Fri Nov 01, 2019 2:38 pm
In Memoriam
In Memoriam

Have you run a cost analysis? Everytime I do the tankless comes up short due to low life expectancy combined with high cost.