Gun store Shooting Locations It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:53 pm

Rules WGO Chat Room Gear Rent Me Shield NRA SAF CCKRBA
Calendar

Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
 A tale of two scales... 
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Well maybe not a tale but how about a tell...

I’ve been using a Lyman D-7 scale for the last four years and while I believe I had it set up correctly I just do not trust it. When I say do not trust it is an afterthought when I recently came across an RCBS 1010. When I got it set up, adjusted and tested I tried it out with my 223 load in my Lee powder throw that was supposedly set at 23g IMR 3031.... we’ll it weren’t!!! It was actually 23.4g (if the RCBS1010 is right) ....

So in all of your infinite wisdom, which one do you think is the best, should I keep one as a back up or scrap em both and get another of better quality?

As always, thanks in advance. ;)

"We cannot negotiate with those who say, 'What's mine is mine, and what's yours is negotiable.'" JFK

"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety”

-Ben Franklin

MadPick wrote:
I don't think you beat your children enough. :ROFLMAO:

Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:00 pm
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Precision trumps accuracy. If you work up your loads it doesn't matter if your scale is off a long as it's repeatable. Use whichever you like best!

Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:10 pm

Verify the scales with check weights...

Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:22 pm
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I was thinking along the same lines, I first have to know what is the right weight though. I’ll get a weight verified tomorrow, thanks.

"We cannot negotiate with those who say, 'What's mine is mine, and what's yours is negotiable.'" JFK

"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety”

-Ben Franklin

MadPick wrote:

Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:23 pm